Lawan reconstitutes Senate committees


The Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, has reconstituted the management and membership of some standing and particular committees of the Senate.

He made the announcement at the tip of plenary on Wednesday.

The contemporary chairmen are Sahabi Ya’u – Committee on National Population and National Identification; Adetokunbo Abiru – Committee on Enterprise; Saidu Alkali – Committee on Commerce and Investments; and Kabiru Barkiya – Committee on Inter-Parliamentary Affairs.

The contemporary Vice-Chairmanship and Membership positions are Seriake Dickson – Committee on Interior and member of the committee on Appropriations; Biodun Olujimi – Member, Committee on Appropriations; Tolu Odebiyi – Vice Chairman, Committee on Marine Transport; Lekan Mustapha – Vice Chairman, INEC; and Jarigbe Jarigbe – Vice Chairman, Committee on International Affairs.

Others are Moses Cleopas – Vice Chairman, National Planning and Financial Affairs; Frank Ibezim – Vice Chairman, Committee on Enterprise; Nora Daduut – Vice Chairman, Committee on Tradition and Tourism; and Degi-Biobarakuma Eremieyo – Member, Committee on Appropriation.

One of the indispensable contemporary appointees replaced some senators who non-public died. The deceased senators are Sikiru Osinowo, Rose Oko and Ignatius Longjan.

The Deputy Governor of Bayelsa Pronounce, Lawrence Ehwudjakpo, who changed into the vice president of the Committee on nationwide planning and economic affairs changed into additionally replaced.

Mr Lawan, in his remarks advised the contemporary chairmen and vice chairmen to originate their duties right away, specifically with work on the 2022 price range.

READ ALSO: ANALYSIS: Lawan, energy of Senate gavel and employ of Division

“We quiz that these Chairmen and Vice Chairman would delivery their work right away, specifically to work on the associated fee range defense.

“We want them esteem every of us, the simpler of tenure and standard fingers on their work,” he acknowledged.

The Senate President presented the composition of 69 standing committees of the 109-member Senate in July 2019.

In the advise, Mr Lawan named Ali Ndume (APC Borno), his indispensable challenger for the plot of the Senate President, as the chairman of the committee on military.

Danjuma Goje (APC, Gombe) who additionally aspired to the plot but withdrew a week to the election, changed into appointed chairman of the committee on marine and land transport.

Improve PREMIUM TIMES’ journalism of integrity and credibility

Appropriate journalism costs a kind of cash. But handiest factual journalism can originate obvious the likelihood of a factual society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For persisted free gain entry to to the appropriate investigative journalism in the country we request you to purchase into consideration making a modest strengthen to this dependable endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you may well well perhaps presumably very effectively be helping to retain a journalism of relevance and guaranteeing it remains free and on hand to all.


TEXT AD: To advertise here . Call Willie 2347088095401…

PT Mag Campaign AD