#EndSARS: Lagos panel concludes, says Lekki taking pictures document to be submitted to govt.


The court cases on the Lagos Sing Judicial Panel of Inquiry came to an pause Monday, with the panel awarding N148.2 million as compensation to 23 victims of police brutality.

The panel had beforehand awarded a entire of N262 million as compensation to 47 petitioners.

With the fresh compensations, a entire of N410.2M million had been given to 70 petitioners as compensation.


According to Doris Okuwobi, the chair, the panel heard 186 petitions from 252 petitioners. She stated cases no longer opened and unconcluded would be despatched to the Lagos Sing Ministry of Justice for consideration on the future body that could per chance well take care of human rights violations in the remark.

Mrs Okuwobi informed the police to additional investigate two officers, identified as Bawa and Salisu, linked to the Ojo police space. She did no longer give details of what the policemen committed.

Touching on Pelumi Onifade’s petition vs remark environmental job power, Mrs Okuwobi stated “petition adjourned sine die to seem ahead to strategies of panel on the unheard petition.”

Lekki taking pictures investigation

On Lekki taking pictures, the panel stated it could per chance well put up its findings which consist of particular person petitions on the incident to the remark authorities and counsel compensation to the petitioners.

Mrs Okuwobi stated the Lekki taking pictures document would be made public by the remark authorities.

The judicial panel became location up by the Lagos Sing authorities in the wake of the #EndSARS jabber in opposition to police brutality in October 2020 to investigate the excesses of the dissolved Federal Special Anti-robbery Squad and to the Lekki shootings.

Below is the stout checklist of the 23 compensations and the recipients:

1. Unhurried Michael Owoicho N10m

2. Unhurried Fatai Ogunseye N10m

3. Adeola Mukaila N700,000

4. Stellar Edegwa N500,000

5. Unhurried Akapo Adekunle N10m

6. Unhurried Mustapha Moruf N10m

7. Kufrey Jackson N5m

8. Unhurried Ikechukwu Iloamuzor N10m

9. Segun Adekoya N1m

10. Unhurried Yusuf Omole 10m

11. Segun Ishola N5m

12. Unhurried Bukola Adeogun N10m

13. Unhurried Okoronkwo Sylvester N10m

14. Titi Agnes N10m

15. Prince Akaba N500,000

16. Chukwudera Uba N4m

17. Unhurried Gabriel Ayodele N10m

18. Abayomi Likinyo N4m

19. James Arebha N4m

20. Juliana Adeoti N1m

21 Adaeze Samson N2.5m

22. Unhurried Yemi Abdulkareem N10m

23. Unhurried Gabriel Ayedungbe N10m

Support PREMIUM TIMES’ journalism of integrity and credibility

Staunch journalism charges numerous money. But most animated appropriate journalism can assemble determined the likelihood of a appropriate society, an to blame democracy, and a clear authorities.

For persevered free rep entry to to basically the most animated investigative journalism in the nation we predict you to defend into consideration making a modest fortify to this gracious endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are serving to to support a journalism of relevance and making sure it stays free and on hand to all.


TEXT AD: To promote here . Name Willie 2347088095401…

PT Mag Campaign AD