#EndSARS: Lagos panel awards one other N91 million to police brutality victims


The Lagos Affirm Judicial Panel of Inquiry on Friday awarded a total of N91 million naira as compensation to 16 petitioners for the brutality, harassment, extortion and extrajudicial killings of their cherished ones by law enforcement officials.

The panel chairperson, Doris Okuwobi, while handing out the cheques to the victims, talked about it’s a part of the gesture of the bellow authorities to ease victims of grief suffered from the hands of brutal law enforcement officials.

Five petitioners had been awarded N10 million every as compensation over the extrajudicial killing of their family.

One amongst the beneficiaries of the compensation, Felix Lucky, earlier narrated how his brother, Paul Lucky, became as soon as killed by a police officer hooked as a lot as Ilasan Police Division, Jakande Property, on October 20 final yr.

The alleged officer, whom he identified as John Dagbo, allegedly shot Mr Lucky, dragged him around Jakande property and later took his body to the police put of dwelling, denying his family to find entry to.

Mrs Okuwobi, while giving the choice of the panel, talked about the petition is meritorious and an award of N10 million as compensation became as soon as given.

The family of Charles Otoo moreover narrated how he became as soon as shot by officers hooked as a lot as Ojodu Police Division within the evening of October 21 final yr.

Sunday Shoyemi, a specialist pathology at LASUTH, moreover confirmed to the judicial panel that a bullet became as soon as extracted from the body of the deceased.

The panel awarded N10 million as compensation.

One petition didn’t accumulate any compensation on tale of it became as soon as lacking in advantage. It became as soon as brushed off by the panel.

A petition became as soon as moreover struck out on tale of one other petition on the same matter became as soon as filed by the police.

Here is the pudgy record of compensations

Eric Okwaji – N10 million

Gregory Egwu – N10 million

Felix Lucky – N10 million

Ayuub Azeez – N10million

Charles Otoo – N10 million

Chukwuma Henry – N9 million

Mariam Shobukola – N8 million

Babatunde Taiwo – N7.5

Emmanuel Okorodudu – N3 million

Gboyega Igbamerun – N5 million

Monday Ojon – N3 million

Tobe Ikoro & Chidera Robinson – N1.5 million and N1million

Dismay Oluwaseyi – N1million

Joseph Onyebuchi Nwafor – N1 million

Ayeni Adebayo – N1 million

The panel had beforehand awarded a total of N171 million as compensations to 31 petitioners.

With the original compensations, a total of N262 million has been given to petitioners as compensation.

Enhance PREMIUM TIMES’ journalism of integrity and credibility

Correct journalism expenses a range of cash. Yet handiest factual journalism could perhaps also be obvious the seemingly for a factual society, an responsible democracy, and a clear authorities.

For continued free to find entry to to the simplest investigative journalism within the country we search recordsdata from you to preserve in solutions making a modest toughen to this pleasurable endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you should perhaps also perhaps be helping to attend a journalism of relevance and guaranteeing it stays free and accessible to all.


TEXT AD: To promote right here . Call Willie 2347088095401…

PT Mag Campaign AD